NAIL ART TUTORIAL: SPRAY PAINTED

We seen a tumblr post stating April will be nail art appreciation month – a homage to your favourite nail artist/nail styles. There are so many great artists out there, but we have had our eye on one lately – Elsalonsito. All of their designs are unique and worthy of a diy, but we especially love their signature design – spray paint! So alas, this is our Elsalonsito homage & our take on the spray paint manicure.

1. After applying a base coat, we recommend CND – Toughen Up, paint nails your base colour  – Misa-Pay Days are Happy Days. We love this neutral, the beige shade has a nice greyish undertone and is such a great formula, applying evenly with barely two coats.

2. Using the brush from the bottles, paint random splats of spray paint (non-perfect circles) – we used China Glaze – For Audrey a classic, Misa – Push Up Bra for a pop of colour and CND – Silver Chrome to add a little metallic shine. Layer your paint splatters over each other – this design looks best the more random they are placed on the nail. Allow for some dry time between colours so the colours don’t run or smudge.

3. Once your base paint splatters have dried, add your final spray paint spots with OPI – Black Onyx. To complete the splatter look using a nail art brush create 2-3 small straight lines on each splatter to create the illusion of drips. Finally, add a few small paint specks using a dotting tool. Seal in your design with Seche Vite & that’s it!

This design was extremely easy & perfect for first time nail artists, the nail art even looks great with just the layering of imperfect circles if you don’t have the nail art tools. There are numerous variations that can be done colour wise – letting you explore and create your own perfect palette.  Follow more of what Elsalonsito is up to on Twitter – they are constantly posting great nails! Would you try the spray paint manicure? Let us know what you thought of today’s tutorial on Twitter or Facebook. Happy Monday everyone!

Comments
17 Responses to “NAIL ART TUTORIAL: SPRAY PAINTED”
  1. drawnonward says:

    I hate to be that annoying person who’s like “I’m really happy for you and imma let you finish, but I have one of the best blogs of all time!” but really…… you should check it out! It’s inspired by the awesomeness of polishyoupretty so you might totally love it! http://whenyounailit.wordpress.com

  2. TopCoatIt says:

    Holy cow I love this! I love when such a simple, easy to do design makes incredible nail art. I’m going to do this!

  3. sugarmitten says:

    Another amazing design! Thanks for the tutorial!

  4. Love this one! I just did a polka dot design on my nails last night, so I’ll have to wait to try this one. I love your tutorials. Your blog is the one I look forward to the most out of all the ones I subscribe to. Thanks for taking the time to post these, I really enjoy them.

  5. akaylamay says:

    Love this! Thanks for all the great, clear nail tutorials… I’ve been having a blast trying them!

  6. Samantha says:

    Very neat!! I’m going to try that one day! I have a nail art bog too, I hope you check it out 😀

    http://www.nailartcouture.blogspot.com

  7. myeyameanslovely says:

    i so need to get a nail brush and dotting tool. you guys are my inspiration to go to nail school!!!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] by Polish You Pretty‘s nail art tutorial “Spray Painted,” I decided to try the look on my nails using similar colors I had at the time. While the […]

  2. […] when I saw it and filed it away in my “To Do” list.  I finally decided to try it out.This was the post I based my mani off of.  Really, I essentially copied it.  My colors are slightly […]

  3. […] messy kind)! We’ve dabbled in different kinds of splatter patterns in the past (see: here, here & here) but wanted to try a controlled bright pop of colour splatter. We know a lot of darker […]

  4. […] was inspired to create Spray Paint nails after seeing it on polishyoupretty blog here. So easy and unique I love this technique. For the base color I used Orly Decades of Dysfunction. […]



Leave a Reply

  • Follow PolishYouPretty on Bloglovin’

    bloglovin
