NAIL ART TUTORIAL: EVERLASTING GOBSTOPPER

Our Valentine edition continues – today we wanted to try a nail art design that wasn’t all about flowers and heart, but something that can be done in any colour and still look great all year around. The gobstopper nail, or the layered ruffian is our latest favourite. This design looks great ombred so we used a v-day palette to go with our theme.

Step 1: After applying a base coat, paint nail with Sally Hansen – Presto Pink. This colour is a perfect pop of pink to begin our look that won’t get lost with the addition of different shades.

Step 2: Using American Apparel – Angeline, a deeper hot pink, paint a ruffian design over your base colour. Start at the far side of the nail and try to drag the polish in one swift motion to the opposite side  – this helps create a perfectly curved line. We used the brush from the bottle, if it is easier/feels more comfortable use a smaller nail art brush & fill in the design.

Step 3: Repeat step 2 using Sally Hansen -Exotic. This colour isn’t exactly new, but it’s a perfect red shade that isn’t too pink or too deep. Your gobstopper is almost complete…

Step 4: Repeat step 2 one last time using China Glaze – Velvet Bow. This colour was from CG’s ’11 Holiday line – & we found it at Sally’s for $2, steal! Once the final layer has dried (this may take awhile, it is quite a bit of polish per nail) seal in the design with a quick dry top coat – we recomment Seche Vite.

We love how this turned out using like shades – we still can’t get over our ombre obsession. Because you are using so much polish on your nails it’s best to choose colours that are thick & usually cover with one coat. If you find you’re using 2-3 coats on each step by the time you’re on the 3rd layer there will be way too much polish to work with & you’ll end up pushing it around. We love this take on the classic ruffian design. Let us know what you’d like to see on PYP before Valentine’s Day – it’s quickly approaching!

Comments
14 Responses to “NAIL ART TUTORIAL: EVERLASTING GOBSTOPPER”
  1. superqueen says:

    You may not believe it but this morning, before leaving to school, I selected some pink/red polishes from my stash for a gradient manicure. I’m not good at complicated manicures and just wanted to paint each nail in a different colour, but now I want to try this one. It’s gorgeous!

  2. tracey says:

    so pretty

  3. love those colors together!!

  4. Running in Mommyland says:

    I was just thinking I wanted to do pink nails with red flames, when I run my first marathon. Your post has inspired me….I want those nails for my race!

  5. Running in Mommyland says:

    Reblogged this on Running in Mommyland and commented:
    I was talking to Sophie about painting my nails bright pink with red flames for the race, as an homage to Catniss (Girl on Fire) from the Hunger Games; both as inspiration to keep me going and as a “thank you” for helping me through so many long runs. These are much prettier than what I imagined…. love them!

  6. Reblogged this on eyeblinkfashion and commented:
    The perfect mani to satisfy your Vday sweet tooth! ❤ Lauren

  7. seampunk says:

    Reblogged this on seampunk and commented:
    Am I doing this? Yes. Yes, I believe I am.

  8. Reblogged this on mchelsmusings and commented:
    this is so pretty, and seems easy to do yourself too!! Thank you, for this one!

  9. Dianne says:

    The curves are so perfect.

  10. Sara DeaTee says:

    Love the colors, but I think it would better done the other way around. What I by that is The end of the nail has the dark circle. I would have it at the beginning. It’s just me but my eyes trick me to think you hand is backwards because of the pattern.

  11. bitchyeditor says:

    ugh I need to leave work right now and buy nail supplies. want all the manicures.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] inspired by a post, NAIL ART TUTORIAL: EVERLASTING GOBSTOPPER, on one of my favorite blogs, Polish You Pretty. I really liked the effect but not so much the […]



Leave a Reply

  • Follow PolishYouPretty on Bloglovin’

    bloglovin
